How to be wheat and gluten free

There is a lot of talk about the various intolerances humans have to foodstuffs. Like milk (shame). Today’s tremendous trivia post gives one such intolerance-activating substance the limelight. Hello, Gluten.

Gluten is the elastic protein present in wheat, rye and barley (and oats, to a lesser degree). It binds the dough in bread and other baked goods, giving them their spongy consistency.

Many people are realising that they have an intolerance to Gluten – which can cause mild to serious discomfort, but is fortunately not life threatening. In these instances, people can be guided by how they feel. Feelings, you know.

Then there are people who are actually allergic to Gluten, which is a different story.

Known as Coeliac disease, a full blown allergy to Gluten means consumption of it causes permanent damage to the small intestines. This is a dangerous thing indeed, and untreated can cause serious complications. In such cases, people can’t be guided by how they feel and need to avoid Gluten like the plague. The good news is, that if you have Coeliac disease you’d know all about it, as the symptoms are clear and persistent and present in children during their first two years.

Intolerance and allergies aside, many people are choosing to go Gluten-free anyway. Research is showing that eating large amounts of Gluten regularly irritates the small intestines (even if we don’t notice on a day to day basis) and hinders vitamin uptake leading to nutritional deficiencies over time. Eish.

Some easy ways to start kicking Gluten out of your diet:

– Prepare your meats simply (roasted and boiling) and avoid crumbing them
– have plain salads and veggies (avoid sauces and coutons)
– replace wheaty stuff with sweet and plan potatoes, corn, rice and beans
– eat lots of fruit (will that ever change?)
– buy breads and baked goodies that are made from alternative flours
– use alternative flours when you bake (rice, soy, tapioca, potato flours)
– Buy breakfast cereals that are made from rice or corn.

Finally, justification for eating Coco pops for breakfast. Some things to look out for in product ingredient lists if you want to avoid Gluten (check the packets people):

Hydrolyzed vegetable protein; Vegetable protein; Malt and malt flavorings; Starches (unless specified as corn starch, which does not contain gluten); Various flavorings; Vegetable gum and Emulsifiers*

If you are wanting to make the switch, the Wellness Warehouse foodmarket is a great place to start. They sell a range of gluten-free breads, flours and other products.

Also, the Wellness Warehouse has a cool blog about being healthy. That’s the wrap on Gluten. Over.

* some info taken from this site.

Written by Marina Pape

Marina was our very first community manager and spent her time having ideas, writing copy, recording the happenings around Yuppiechef HQ and scheming up ways to have fun. View more articles by .


  1. Monica de Blanche says:

    Good evening,

    Please can you advise where the “mass market” can purchase ‘Gluten free products’ My helper’s son is Gluten intolerant and they cannot afford to purchase from high-end stores?

    We would also appreciate simple, budget friendly recipes that she can prepare with the limited appliances and time that she has.

    Your assistance will be greatly appreciated.

    Kind regards,

    Monica de Blanche
    C +27 (82) 904-2262 | F +27 (86) 672-5917 | Email
    Postnet suite 30, Private Bag X9, Benmore, 2010

    • Yuppiechef says:

      Hi Monica

      We’re really not the best authority on this subject matter, but what we can tell you is that the Wellness Warehouse stock a really good range of gluten free products as does Dischem.

      This article by All4women has a lot of good info and recipe links in it too.

      We hope you come right with this information.

    • Frieda says:

      Hi Monica

      I’ve been gluten free for nearly 4 years now so I have found some nice biscuit recipes I will send to you. Unfortunately I do go for the mass produced breads and rolls as I have not had success with those and I decided to stop throwing the bricks and really horrid breads out.

      Regards Frieda

  2. Frieda says:

    Hi Marina

    to hi-light, malt is made from barley which contains gluten and therefore all rice pops are actually out of the question. Sadly, I know.

    Regards Frieda

Add a comment or ask a question